Foreign Minister recognises Estonians and foreigners with the Foreign Ministry’s Order of Merit

Yesterday 21 January, Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu awarded the ministry’s Order of Merit to recognise diplomats, journalists, entrepreneurs, former and current foreign ministers and public figures who have made notable contributions to securing Estonia’s independence and advancing Estonia’s interests internationally.

“I am very happy to award the Order of Merit to people who have been committed to advancing the Estonian cause at home or abroad, as well as to our important partners worldwide. I would like to express special gratitude to those hardworking Estonian civil servants and representatives of partner countries who made every effort to manage the coronavirus crisis. This year, we are also taking an international perspective: as an elected member of the UN Security Council, we are more involved in discussions on international security than ever before,” Urmas Reinsalu said.

“I am proud that Estonia has so many friends we can count on. These are the people who help make Estonia greater and stronger,” the Foreign Minister added.

A total of 31 people from Estonia and abroad were recognised. Among them is Linas Linkevičius, former Foreign Minister of Lithuania.

The 2021 recipients of the Order of Merit of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs 

1. Aku Sorainen
2. Anne Samlik
3. Anvar Samost
4. Aune Kotli
5. Damon Wilson
6. David Harris
7. Edgars Rinkēvičs
8. Edward Lucas
9. Enno Uibo
10. Erki Kodar
11. Heiki Magnus
12. Inga Bowden
13. Irja Lutsar
14. Jacek Krzysztof Czaputowicz
15. Jüri Ratas
16. Kristiina Omri
17. Lembit Uibo
18. Linas Linkevičius
19. Mart Luik
20. Mart Raudsaar
21. Michael Richard Pompeo
22. Mihhail Lotman
23. Märt Volmer
24. Paavo Nõgene
25. Paul Teesalu
26. Pekka Haavisto
27. Priit Hõbemägi
28. Riho Ühtegi
29. Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya
30. Teet Korsten
31. Tiina Nirk