Agreement on free movement between the Baltic States

Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu, Foreign Minister of Latvia Edgars Rinkēvičs and Foreign Minister of Lithuania Linas Linkevičius signed today in Riga a memorandum of understanding on the free movement of persons between the Baltic States.

Starting from 15 May, the borders of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania can be crossed by individuals who display no symptoms and who hold the citizenship of Estonia, Latvia or Lithuania, have a residence permit or right of residence or whose permanent place of residence is in one of the Baltic States according to the population registry. Anyone arriving to Estonia from Lithuania or Latvia no longer have to self-isolate for 14 days.

The memorandum of understanding stipulates the general framework for a trilateral abolition of restrictions on movement introduced due to the COVID-19 crisis, and cooperation.

Read more: minister-reinsalu-riga-today-and-takes-part-informal-video-conference-european-union-foreign